01484 666 601




Our governing body is made up of parents, teachers and other staff, LEA and church representatives, people co-opted from the local community, and the Head teacher.  Governors are volunteers and their term of office usually lasts for four years.  The Head teacher and school governors are responsible for the overall educational and financial health of the school and will make decisions about

  • Setting and monitoring the school’s aims, policies and school budget;
  • Appointing staff, including the head teacher;
  • Maintaining the school’s premises and improving the environment;
  • Composition of overall school development plan and ensure progress towards achieving the targets in the school development plan is monitored;
  • Ensuring the National Curriculum is taught and standards of achievement are maintained and raised;
  • Making sure that the school provides for all its pupils including those from ethnic minority backgrounds and with special needs;
  • Ensuring the school encourages pupils’ spiritual, moral and cultural development.


The Governors 

The Chair of the Standards and Effectiveness Committee is Prof. Andrew Taylor

The Chair of the Resources Committee is Mr Neil Drake

Name Start of term of Office End of term of Office Governor Type
Prof Andrew Taylor 17.6.18  Resigned 14.7.2021 Co-opted
Neil Drake 26.5.19  Resigned 14.7.2021 Foundation 
Lynne Minett 22.9.19 21.9.23 Parent
Charles Kaye 21.7.19  20.7.23  Foundation
Clare Thomas N/A  N/A Headteacher
Alison Heeley 11.9.17  10.9.21 Teaching Staff
Rachael Anderson (Vice Chair) 12.6.19  11.06.23 Co-opted
Tamara Jackson 26.1.20  25.1.24 LA Governor
Rev Martin Short N/A N/A Foundation Ex-Officio
Andy Matthews 22.11.17 Resigned 16.7.2021 Co-opted
Phil Crowther  22.11.17 21.11.21


Lesley Conway (Chair) 21.7.18 20.7.22


Suzy Bailey-Hawke 10.10.18 9.10.22


Anthony Hutt 16.5.2021 15.6.2025



Click here to see Register of Business Interest.

Click here to see attendance at Governors meeting 2020 - 2021

Click here to see attendance at Governors meetings 2021 - 2022

Click here to see who our Governors are and read a little bit about each one.